Wednesday, April 19, 2017

The Sisters - Book Review

The Sisters by Claire Douglas


Since the momen I read "Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train" by Marie Claire, I should take that as an alert that this books was not going to be for me, still once more I ignored the comment and gave the book a chance, since I dislike when a book is recommended that way, people should know better than comparing one book with another when they have nothing in common, except that both are predictable. I should have pay attention to the book it was compared because if The Girl on the Train was bad, this one certainly was worst.
 But let me start for the beginning, or at least for the description.

"One lied, One died.
When one sister dies, the other msut go to desperate lenghts to survive.
After a tragic accident, still haunted by her twin sister's death, Abi is making a fresh start in Bath. But when she meets siblings Bea and Ben, she is quickly drawn into their privileged and unsettling circle.
When one sister lies, she must protec her secret at all costs.
As abi tries to keep up with the demands of her fickle friends, strange things start to happen -precious letters go missing and threatening messages are left in her room. Is this the work of the beautiful and capricious Bea? Or is Abi willing to go to any lenghts to get attention?
When the truth outs, will either sister survive?"

The description is a clear attempt to make mysterious and intriguing the book, which let me tell you is not!
The book starts with Abi narrating her new life, and while she let us know that she killed her sister, which was the first indication taht she was exaggerating, and that things were going to be more dramatic than trilling, the rest of the book took the same path.

Abi lost her sister in a "tragic accident" for which she blames herself, she's obsessed and lost for grieving, she goes to therapy and takes pills, and the story goes from maybe a little bit interesting to ridiculous to the point that it was almost a DNF for me.

When Beatrice appears in the book, it was kind of sick the way Abi gets obsessed with her, to the point that you start doubting if her fixation is merely for the resemblance with herself and ehr dead twin sister or if she was attracted physically to Beatrice, which later she would deny and said taht it was unbelievable and pretent that is kind of gross, but at the same time she feels curiosity to the subject of Bea previously be involved with another woman, which is very twisted since made you wonder what kind of relationship Abi had with her own twin?

By the time Ben was introduced to Abi, you pretty well know that there's something wrong in the relationship between Bea and her brother, still Abi accepts the invitation to move and live with them which is pretty much weird, because who moves to a house with people she just met?
I get that a lot of people move with strangers but common sense is that you search or meet the person before moving. But not in this case, oh no, Bea knew who Abi was from the newspaper, she read about the accident and actually cut that particular news.
As expected, Abi and Ben start dating, causing jealousy on Bea, weird things started to happen which make you doubt who was the sane and who the insane, was Abi telling the true or was it Bea?

The attempt to make the characters as if all of them were hiding something, from shy Cass who we don't know anything except for her obsession with Bea, the plain Pam who chats and chats and is older that all of them. the controlling Ben who is kind and warm and Bea who you love for moments and hate in others when she starts to ignore Abi, and about her what can we say? well, she was problematic, and lost for grieve, she's a stalker, and an obsessive personality and who was so unstable and attempted to kill herself.

There was not a single character which was likeable or at least interesting and not cliche at all. Since the beginning you notice that this is going to be a love triangle, in a twisted sick way, with lines such as "wish you could put me first instead of always worring about offending your precious sister" even when they were just dating for a few days, oh dear that was laughable, or "the two most important women in his life".

The ending was terrible, so predictable that made me laugh so hard, because it was ridiculous, and some phrases made me doubt for moments if this was actually a book from a publishing company or from an indie author who didn't have the time to edit it.

I gave this book 1 start, that bad it was!


No comments:

Post a Comment

follow me on

quote of the month

quote of the month

Share some Love